arrowHOME—US Scouting—Eagle Scout Requirements since 1911

Eagle Scout Requirements

A Comparison of the BSA's Eagle Requirements since 1911

Eagle Scout is just about the most significant accomplishment an American boy can do. The award has value in adult society because of the example and success of past Eagles in adult life. Since the first Eagle in 1912, more than 2 million boys (and men) have earned Eagle Scout.

Here are the requirements for the BSA's highest rank since its creation in 1911. By my count, there have been about 12 different sets of requirements, though changes were sometimes minimal, and BSA has been fiddling with the requirements regularly in recent years. A boy could begin his advancement toward Eagle when he became a Scout (age 12 until 1949, age 11 until 1972, about age 10-1/2 since). Until 1952, adult men could also earn Eagle; since then the opportunity to earn the award stops at age 18. Note that neither leadership nor service were required until almost 50 years after Scouting's founding.

Of the original 1911 requirements, Eagle Scouts today still have to earn First Class, and still have to earn a total of 21 merit badges. Of the original Eagle required list of 11 badges from 1914, today's Eagles must still earn Camping, Cooking (as of 1/1/2014), and First Aid (and today's Personal Fitness is a direct successor to Personal Health). Lifesaving is still on the Eagle list, but is optional.


The BSA comes into existence. For the first few months, the highest rank is First Class.

1911 Eagle Requirements

The BSA adds three higher ranks for earning merit badges beyond First Class: Life, Star, and Eagle (Star was switched before Life in 1924, apparently because the five points of the Star could symbolize the five merit badges required for the rank). Neither Life nor Star is required for Eagle (a Scouting magazine article [May-June 2003] indicated that 8 of the first 9 Eagle Scouts [including the BSA's first Eagle] did not earn either Life or Star ranks).The 1911 Scout Handbook refers to Eagle Scout as "the highest scout merit badge" rather than a rank.

1912—Arthur Eldred becomes the first Eagle Scout.

1914 Eagle Requirements

[created an Eagle required list of 11 badges by adding 6 badges to the 5 formerly required for Life]

1915 Eagle Requirements

[made Physical Development optional along with Athletics; added Civics]

1927 Eagle Requirements

[required 1 year active service as First Class Scout]

1936 Eagle Requirements

[for the first time, required earning Star and Life ranks; added Safety]

In 1952, maximum age set at 18; before that there was no maximum age at which a boy or man could earn Eagle.

1958 Eagle Requirements

[now it gets complicated—a maze of merit badge options adding up to 16 required badges (from a list of 65 badge choices!) and 5 other badges; plus the first requirement to provide leadership and give service]

1965—500 000 Scouts have earned Eagle.

1965 Eagle Requirements

[eliminated the complex merit badge list and returned to a simple list of 11 required badges; required specific leadership and a community service project]

1970 Eagle Requirements

[alphabetized the required list of badges; Conservation of Natural Resources replaced Soil and Water Conservation]

1972 Eagle Requirements

[increased total badges required to 24, reflecting the new requirement to earn 5 merit badges for First Class; dropped Camping, Cooking, Nature; renamed/updated Conservation of Natural Resources as Environmental Science; added Citizenship in the World (formerly World Brotherhood), Communications, Personal Management (formerly Personal Finance), and optional Emergency Preparedness and Sports; made Swimming, Lifesaving, and Personal Fitness optional; for the first time, permitted a Scout to earn Eagle without knowing how to swim and without having any particular outdoor or camping experience; troop offices now referred to simply as a "position" rather than as "leadership"]

1978 Eagle Requirements

[reduced the Eagle total back to 21 merit badges; restored Camping to the required list]

1982—1 million Scouts have earned Eagle.

1999 Eagle Requirements

[made Personal Fitness mandatory for the first time since 1972; dropped Safety and Sports as Eagle badges; added Hiking and Cycling as optional Eagle badges]

2009—2 million Scouts have earned Eagle.

2009 Eagle Requirements

[very minor adjustments to Scout Spirit requirement (spelling out the requirement for references), to the "positions of responsibility" list (Venture patrol leader, webmaster, Leave No Trace instructor), and an expanded description of the service project process]

*—So is it 'Communication' or 'Communications' merit badge? BSA just can't decide. All the Scout Handbooks through the 12th Edition call it 'Communications'. But the annual Boy Scout Requirements book has been calling it 'Communication' since 2010, and the new 13th Edition of the Scout Handbook also calls it 'Communication'. So looks like 'Communication' wins.

Recent Adjustments to the 2009 Requirements

What percentage of Scouts become Eagles?
Although 3% to 5% is often tossed around, since BSA records show there have been just over 2 million Eagles, and something over 100 million Scouts, that works out to less than 2% who earn Eagle.

Highest Scout Rank in Other Countries