arrowHOMEUS Scouting—BSA Councils in Colorado

BSA Councils in Colorado

The state of Colorado is divided among six of the BSA's roughly 270 local "councils". It is these councils that are directly responsible for the BSA program within their assigned territories. Far southwestern Colorado is assigned to the Great Southwest Council (Albuquerque, New Mexico). Most of the rest of the "West Slope" (Colorado west of the Continental Divide) is in the Western Colorado Council. The Colorado "Front Range" plus the state's eastern plains are divided into four councils, from north to south: Longs Peak Council, Denver Area Council, Pikes Peak Council, and Rocky Mountain Council. Of the five councils headquartered in Colorado, only Longs Peak Council extends beyond the state borders, covering adjacent southeastern Wyoming plus the Nebraska panhandle.

BSA Councils in Colorado

Colorado Scout Council Summary (listed alphabetically)

Longs Peak Council

Longs Peak Council Shoulder Patch

Since Troop 97 is in Longs Peak Council, here's a little additional information about our local council, which is named after the highest peak in the council's area (4346 m/14 259 feet). For administrative purposes, most councils sub-divide their territory into several geographic "districts". Longs Peak currently has six districts (Troop 97 is in the Bighorn district).

Council-owned Camping Properties

Bighorn District

(district information on Longs Peak Council website; the new Bighorn district is the combination of the former Cache La Poudre and Rocky Mountain districts, effective 1/1/2019)